ACURA MDX . ORG
www.acuramdx.org ACURA MDX . ORG Archive > Off Topic > General Off Topic
 
Play with the scam artist, or ignore him? - Click HERE for Original Thread
Advertisement
mgmdx
Saw this classified ad on cragslist:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NISSAN 350Z ROADSTER - $18500
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply to: anon-87383280@craigslist.org
Date: 2005-07-27, 7:10PM PDT


Miles: 23223 Doors: 2 doors
Transmission: Manual Interior: Black
Engine: 6 - Cyl. Year: 2004
VIN Number: JN1AZ36D54T100026
Title: Clear Exterior: Gray
Condition: Used
Engine: V6 3.5 Liter

Options
CD Player Anti-Lock Brakes Driver Airbag Passenger Airbag
Air Conditioning Cruise Control Power Locks Power Windows
Power Seats
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Seemed fishy to me because of the low price (about $10 - $12K lower than the blue book), so I thought I would get more info. Sent an e-mail message inquiring about it as follows:

"""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
Hello,

I am interested in 2004 Gray/black 350Z Roadster you are selling on craigslist and have a couple questions about it:

- Is it an Enthusiast or Touring model?
- What is the production month in '04 for this car?
- Are you the original owner? Why are you selling the car?
- Has it ever been in an accident? If so, is it a "salvaged" title?
- Was there any warranty work done on the car (tire feathering, top replacement, transmission, etc.)? What kind of work?
- What other repairs/maintenance has been performed? Do you have documentation to support this?
- Can you e-mail some pictures of the car to me?
- Where are you located?

Please reply to the questions above. Upon receipt of your reply I would like to arrange the time to take a look at the car. Thanks.
""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""


Received this reply:

***************************************************
The car is as good as new so you don't have to worry. Here are the most important details about the car :
- US car ( US model , US specs )
- odometer in Miles , speedometer in Miles per Hour ( MPH )
This car meets all Environmental Regulations in the USA ( DOT , EPA ) .
it has a clear title issued in US and it can be registred anytime under your name without a problem.I will send you with the
car the Bill Of Sale for you not have never problem to registered the car in your name and for this deal will be
legitime.It's absolutely perfect ,it has a clear title ,has never been repaired , never been involved in any type of accident
or had any paint or body work done! I live in Athens , Greece, now where European specs are different from the American ones
and it costs me too much driving this car legally here and also there is nobody interested in buying it here that's why I am
selling it so cheap hoping to find a buyer in the US where it belongs.The second motiv i sell so cheap is because here in
London i not can drive this car.The best and fastest way I can ship with is using Lufthansa Air Cargo and it takes between
9-10 days to arrive at your home address. and .We will use a safe payment method .I will wait for your email to let me know
if you are interested in knowing more details about the purchase.
Thank you !
***************************************************


:32:

Definitely looks like a scam. He can't seem to decide whether he is in Athens, Greece or in London and is ready to ship the car to me.

On the one hand, I can mess with this idiot's mind, but on the other hand, it looks like he does not have much of a mind in the first place, so why bother.

What do you guys think? Should I play with his tiny brain or just ignore him?
ypsimdx
I would tell him you have 2 cousins, one in London and one in Athens, and that one is a retired FBI agent, and the other is on special assignment for the NYPD. See if one of your "cousins" can take the car for a test drive.
komondor
I would ask for a digital pic of the odometer ask him where the car is in athens as you have some frinds who live in Crete and work at the american base there.
mgmdx
Scammer indicates in his reply that the car is "...absolutely perfect , ... has never been repaired..."

:bsflag:

Checked the VIN number with the local Nissan dealer. The car was originally sold in FL in 8/03, and the following work was performed under warranty since then:

- Convertible roof replaced 3/04
- Trunk mouldings replaced 4/04
- 2 tires replaced 6/04
- Seat back trim replaced 11/04

E-mailed the "seller" asking again for pictures, car location, and more info.
Advertisement
hondacuraworld
I have a friend, Kristos Skaloumbakas, that lives in Athens. If you actually DID want the car, I'm sure he'd buzz over to look at it for you :)
mgmdx
Thanks for the offer, Tim. Realistically though, it is pretty much a given that this is a scam. He probably just wanted to see if any suckers out there are willing to send him money without researching/seeing this car (which he probably does not even own).

He likely won't even reply to my second e-mail. If he does, I may offer to send him a check for the larger-than-asking amount to pay for the car, and request that he send me the difference via cashiers check in US funds. :)
laborlitigator
Tell him you will be in the country on business and when can you come to inspect the vehicle. If everything passes, you'll pay him on the spot.

See what kind of reaction that brings.
Liberty
God! They make me sick. I found a beetle I was interested in - just a low cost commuter to drive on occassion since my commute is 100 miles per day and I felt I was racking up too many mdxmiles. The price was approriate - for a base model. But strangely, the photo was for a Turbo. (Huh?) So - I asked similar questions and rec'd response that it was his Grandpa's who had dies, and he was in Iraq in the military and was trying to resolve estate... and oh gee. The car was no longer at the lot 30 miles from my house as advertised but was now in Phoenix, and if I paid $500 they would truck it over and if I didn't want it they would refund the $$$.

And I thought - RUN!!!!!!!!!This guy is a scammer.:ucrazy:

So then - I responded to same ad with different email address and got identical response so I knew for certain.
Advertisement
JayPogi
Hey that's my ad. Don't e-mail me again, this is not a scam, the car is really $18500!




:2: :2:


Just kidding
Or am I? :confused:
MoogieBoogie
I can't believe that people actually fall for these scams. On Supraforums, there are people who post, "I found a Supra for $8500! Is this a good deal?" I once filled up with gas and the gas attendant told me about how he found a car just like mine for $6000 but it was in England.

Are people really that gullible? Some people seem to think that wealthy people will part with their sale items for a cheap price - if that's the case, they wouldn't be wealthy to begin with?

-Brian.
Sinecure
have you guys seen this? A guy scams a scammer big time. Its a great thread, albeit a long read.

http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/

its the ppppowerbook scam if you've seen it before and don't want to read all the way through.
mgmdx
Found another 350Z Roadster scam on craigslist:


**************************************************
350Z CONVERTIBLE NAVIGATION XENONS HTD LEATHER! - $22000
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply to: anon-101465440@craigslist.org
Date: 2005-10-02, 5:45PM PDT

etc.

**************************************************

The price appears to be too low, and the pictures and the features/description for this one appear to have been stolen from this eBay auction listing which appears to be legitimate.

Wonder if it is the same guy that I contacted couple months ago, as indicated above in the initial post in this thread? Sent a message with some questions to the scam artist. Will see what his reply will be.
Advertisement
mgmdx
Here's another, most recent 350Z Roadster scam on craigslist.

http://www.craigslist.org/sfc/car/106721742.html

Asking only $8,300 for a car that is worth between $31,000 and $34,000 per Edmunds TMV.

Such a deal :rolleyes:... I think I should send him a check now. :ucrazy:

Powered by: Search Engine Indexer and vBulletin v2.2.9
Copyright © 2000 - 2002, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Copyright 2000 Acuramdx.org. All Rights Reserved.